Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
The WORLD Is WATCHING de POTENT KEYSTROKES of de POWA of de VINCY. EVERYTHING SAID in those PIECES were COVERED DAILY for YEARS in SOCA CHAT by I n I.
For the MUSIC to MOVE FORWARD, yuh CAAH BRING de SAME THING, OVER and OVER and OVER and OVER again. It is called STAGNATION....it is called NO PROGRESS....it is called LACK of INNOVATION and LACK of VISION.
But like I said, MANY SOCA ISLANDS want to MOVE ON, but the ALBATROSS in de BIZNIZ is HOLDING them back.
Imagine a CERTAIN THEME has DOMINATED an INDUSTRY for 16 YEARS....16 YEARS...THINK about it....16 YEARS. Where do you EVER hear that in the HISTORY of MUSIC?
The ONLY THING that has been MORE DOMINANT than that PARTICULAR THEME is the DICTATORSHIPS in AFRICA. And we KNOW what has been the RESULTS of those DICTATORSHIPS to those NATIONS and to the PEOPLE.
MUDDERWUK!!!
YUHHHHHH SEEEEE MEEEEEEE
YUHHHHH SEEEE MEEEE
i agree with you? wow this is suprising!!. however i disagree with you that small islands want to move on. if you ask me, they are singing the same thing too. skinny for example, you are routing for him with his song "head bad," tell me whats different about that song. absolutely nothing. We've heard many times the LOVE TO PARTY THEMES... this is why i gaving monarch to fayann cuz her song has alot of context to it, im sure you will agree. there is history (superblue), there is the fact that she is pregnant, and there is politics (she is a woman). its a great song, released at the PERFECT time. i dont care what know body say about it should of waited till next year.
i totally understand you have to big up your country as support your artist. i know you do that ALOT. i cant blame you for doing that, its natural. but member this is what is holding back soca as a whole too. there are many islands competing for a small market. even tho a song may not be as good, it will be pushed because of loyalty and not quality. this is absolutely wrong. its hurting the genre big time!