View Single Post
Old 01-31-2009, 03:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
caribarts

Credits: 4,246
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
That was a bess tune, still is. No its not some innovative, complicated composition or anything like that but who cares? Music evolves at its own pace, some trends stay around awhile and others come and go quickly. It may or may not be true that soca is evolving slowing right now but who cares? I don't understand what allyuh want. The purpose of music..matter of fact the purpose of all art is to express and to evoke feeling. If the music makes me feel good I don't care if its as simple as jack & jill went up the hill. No music or any art is going to appeal to everyone. If the tune make you smile, make you want to buss a wine or to hug up your partner then do so, if it evokes no feeling at all move onto the next.

All these dissertations about the future of the music, the pace it evolving etc just killing me. If is certain typa tunes allyuh want to hear then write the tunes and go record it already lawd.

You wonder why people outside and inside the Caribbean think our music is pure B.S. Soca is not evovling, most of the songs out there are ridiculous to say the least. Because of how we treat this music, most people don't realize that it is even a genre, if artist and producers continue to lack respect for what they develop, this music will never move anywhere.

Kaiso is an African word that means great words/lyrics, which calypso grew from, should we take a few steps backwards inorder to move forward - yes.