View Single Post
Old 01-31-2009, 12:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
VINCYPOWA

Credits: 140,726
Originally Posted by readingtrini View Post
artist getting more and more lazy with soca music each year. soca music is just losing its creativity. man like crazy who singing "cock cyah stand up" is rel big tunes. member when kitchner and mighty sparrow brought calypso to the world? what happened to those days? those guys used to sing with humor, politics, a story to there song.... but soca continues with wine, jump, and wave. i understand that superblue started this phenomenon in the early 90s, but come on our music hasnt evolved beyond that yet? member blue didnt create soca! so soca isnt just about jumping and waving. he got creative and did something different, which was a huge success. but that success has also created huge draw backs to the soca genre as more and more artist getting lazy and not creating something new. look at mustafa performance on SSS4
Login | Facebook
scroll to 9.20mins in...

this guy just killed it with this song. tune rel bad, and the man performing bad too. i mean this kinda style isnt new to the calypso industry, but this is what the soca industry needs. story, comedy, hook lines, politics etc...
i shall also add mustafa singing reggae/dancehall well good
SynergyTV.net | sss4 Extra IP Seg1

why do u think he choose a calypso song vs a soca? i think its because he see the flexibilty to be more creative, as soca lacking this kinda creativity!

your thoughts?
The WORLD Is WATCHING de POTENT KEYSTROKES of de POWA of de VINCY. EVERYTHING SAID in those PIECES were COVERED DAILY for YEARS in SOCA CHAT by I n I.

For the MUSIC to MOVE FORWARD, yuh CAAH BRING de SAME THING, OVER and OVER and OVER and OVER again. It is called STAGNATION....it is called NO PROGRESS....it is called LACK of INNOVATION and LACK of VISION.

But like I said, MANY SOCA ISLANDS want to MOVE ON, but the ALBATROSS in de BIZNIZ is HOLDING them back.

Imagine a CERTAIN THEME has DOMINATED an INDUSTRY for 16 YEARS....16 YEARS...THINK about it....16 YEARS. Where do you EVER hear that in the HISTORY of MUSIC?

The ONLY THING that has been MORE DOMINANT than that PARTICULAR THEME is the DICTATORSHIPS in AFRICA. And we KNOW what has been the RESULTS of those DICTATORSHIPS to those NATIONS and to the PEOPLE.

MUDDERWUK!!!

YUHHHHHH SEEEEE MEEEEEEE

YUHHHHH SEEEE MEEEE