View Single Post
Old 01-31-2009, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
readingtrini

Credits: 6,188
kaiso....soca needs to learn from its roots

artist getting more and more lazy with soca music each year. soca music is just losing its creativity. man like crazy who singing "cock cyah stand up" is rel big tunes. member when kitchner and mighty sparrow brought calypso to the world? what happened to those days? those guys used to sing with humor, politics, a story to there song.... but soca continues with wine, jump, and wave. i understand that superblue started this phenomenon in the early 90s, but come on our music hasnt evolved beyond that yet? member blue didnt create soca! so soca isnt just about jumping and waving. he got creative and did something different, which was a huge success. but that success has also created huge draw backs to the soca genre as more and more artist getting lazy and not creating something new. look at mustafa performance on SSS4
Login | Facebook
scroll to 9.20mins in...

this guy just killed it with this song. tune rel bad, and the man performing bad too. i mean this kinda style isnt new to the calypso industry, but this is what the soca industry needs. story, comedy, hook lines, politics etc...
i shall also add mustafa singing reggae/dancehall well good
SynergyTV.net | sss4 Extra IP Seg1

why do u think he choose a calypso song vs a soca? i think its because he see the flexibilty to be more creative, as soca lacking this kinda creativity!

your thoughts?

Last edited by readingtrini; 01-31-2009 at 11:02 AM..