This better than who war is getting real f-ing annoying.
Trinis/Trinbagonians who like to push the damn mecca better than you tip, is ah new year big up Trinidad and Tobago without sounding condescending or ignorant nah, oh gosh. We know our talents and awesomeness in many respects but please do not forget some of our performers collaborate with other islands so we are intertwined in some ways.
Stop pushing the better than you crap. Every person feels his/her country is boss. Please don't use every blasted thread to continue allyuh war with certain people.
Non Trinibagonians who the frig tell you you could tell us what is quality soca, good soca, etc etc.
State whether you like a song and state why you don't think it is good and let's discuss. Please do not use a thread to put down all our songs. We are multi-talented and some of that talent is not uplifted. Most Trinbagonians know what are sh
it songs. Keep in mind all of us have different tastes.
There are better ways for us to discuss a song or songs for a particular year. Time to learn, Trinbagonians included. Who the frig I be to say all I said and will say below? Some call me: "Minister of Culture".
This forum has the potential to be more.
And oh frig yes compared to the glory days it is not the same.
As time goes by, people experiment and a new era of soca will emerge.
Producers, singers, musicians will unite and produce a new sound.
Some will be for mainstream others are for the various tastes. And a number of them will be sung for the Carnivals.
e.g Roboman still growing on me but I won't knock him unique and fun twist to the Caribbean music industry. Many think one of Fireball's most popular song was not good but I loved it and sang right along to it.
Why it is some of you have to mention this year eh all that or to borrow a word, subpar and put down our soca. I find it have endless song from Trinbago that fun, make meh feel sexy, have creativity, and just plain good. Excellent some are. Sweet soca for days. Trinbagonians know what the frig we like.
Some people have the unmitigated friggin gall to continuously put down my island because some people on here and offline are braggards and don't give credit where it is due etc, etc
Ever since I came on this site I have been pushing fairness and unity so fuh damn sure I am not one of those Trinis that don't give other islands respect so don't broadbrush.
Thanks to imix, I have been exposed to the various music and it has broadened my tastes and knowledge but I need to be better immersed to fully appreciate it so someday I hope to go to the various islands to take it in better and learn to dance to the various music.
When ah hear some Trinbago 2009 songs playing ah seeing ah fete, ah seeing mehself on the streets ah Port of Spain playing mas, ah seeing just fun times....
Instead:
Lehwe talk about the soca mafia
Lehwe talk bout changing the industry to be more inclusive of the artists
Lehwe talk bout what inroads have been made for progress
Lehwe talk bout ways to support the artists and other positive things for the benefit of the soca, bouyon, zouk, calypso, cadence etc industries.
Lehwe talk about pushing for quality lyrics in some albums
Lehwe discuss songs in a better way.
If I have the energy and time I will spam any thread with this war foolishness and putting down Trinibagonians unfairly.
However, feel free to blaze any member who insulting yuh country and not partaking in a
discussion.
Makes for good entertainment.
So to start soca chat on the right track I am about to start another thread....