Credits: 5,077
Originally Posted by Daveed
A lot of what you said is correct BUT you are missing the message.
Try not to miss the message that we should choose GOD over religion, Choose Inspiration over dogma...choose LOVE over scripture.
I beg to differ comrade; I'm well aware that that is the central theme. My argument,however, is that one cannot accomplish that if one still hinges ones belief and ideas of spirituality and morality upon an illusion that was the creation of a specific culture that held specific worldviews. The mere fact that the term "God", a gender-specific term encompasses both male and female elements - which are quite distinct - means that one is already on the road to further conflict and discord. To embrace spirituality (not the same as religiono, which is a patricentric construct) in its complex totality there must be a reunification of the different values found in male and female approaches to spirituality
Originally Posted by Oneshot
True never said otherwise, but you have to appreciate that religion does serve a function in governing the masses. By seeking out this spiritual nature of man you may be release him from the protective barrier that his mind should belong.
This may be exactly what i was referring to; what protective barrier should man's mind belong to? Perhaps I'm misreading what was written
Originally Posted by Daveed
Very true!
It also serves a cultural and social function - church is still a good place to meet some nice ladies. 
*siiiiigh* Oh those wonderful memories, heh heh heh
Originally Posted by kevlocks
HEY! for all we know, that could be his next book! 
It sure as hell is the subject of my own (if I could only find the time to finish the damn thing). And why should we not discuss the question of the Gospel Jesus' so-called historicity - long since decided anyway in many other blogs and conferences, if what I've read and participated in among the more "white" oriented sites is any indication. It's either yuh want to change the ills plauging society or yuh don't, why de half-pick duck approach? What is there to be afraid of? Many whites don't seem to have a problem in understanding the fact that the thing is largely a myth so why should we still be ducking it?
Last edited by Ananci_7; 11-22-2008 at 07:37 AM..