Originally Posted by Brown Milk
I know that Lampard and Gerrard cant play together for England... The problem with Capello is which one of those two he has to pick and at the moment he's going with Lampard because of Gerrard's versatility...
I dont give a rats bout international football cuz its shit anyway... Its all about club football and the UEFA Champions League...
Man yuh starting to sound like Wenger with that kinda Int'l talk,lol. Sorry but he's never really proven himself in a England shirt to retain his Liverpool form, you can't rate someone as the top vs. someone that's doing well on 2 different fronts. if they're not able to duplicate the same form for their country. If I went on Raul's form for Real Madrid from 97 up until Ronaldo's 1st 2 years ah would called him top3. But his form for Spain was subpar when it mattered.
Originally Posted by Shawn E. Glass
DM your argument for Aguero is valid but discounting the likes of Messi and CR7 is a mistake to me. The stars of bigger teams are the ones in the oppsing managers gameplans, and in the heads of their defending counterparts on the pitch. so if they still can be successful while being a key figure/ focal point of the oppsition, I feel they must be considered. It may be getting harder or Aguero to fly below the radar but I doubt most managers were as dilligent in planning how to neutralize him as they would plan for the likes of CR7, Messi, Villa etc.
I wasn't discounting CR7 and Messi. Yes it's a bit pre-mature, but he's been on a tear for sometime. Atletico has inferior talent to a G14 club, so it's easier to "zero-in" on Aguero than CR7 or Messi.
He's had a better 07/08 than Messi (although injuries played a factor). I want to see how he performs in the CL against the G14 teams. Liverpool should be the toughest test in Aguero's club career at any level.