View Single Post
Old 09-09-2008, 09:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
chinky eyes
Amanza Awatu!

Credits: 2,345
Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
Seven Reasons Why the Parkway is better than Trinidad Carnival|Caribbean Carnival Network

I thought this article was funny. Tell me what you guys think. I feel nothing can compare to mas back home but to each is own. I guess for every negative there is a positive and this article highlights positives of labor day. As for solutions I'm all for Unity, but there should be a limit to how many trucks each island has for representation. Maybe 3 Mas bands and 1 or 2 T-shirt bands after all Carnival is costumes. And also someone explain to NYPD just because we don't have a costume on doesn't mean we don't want to participate. I was so upset I had to walk a whole 2 blocks to find a hole and an area to climb in order to get in my band, and its frustrating when you just come back from the islands and you're accustom to just walking in and out of the streets. Anyway tell me what you think about the article.

A north american carnival can NEVER EVER be better than that which takes place in each island. Even though these north american events are put on/organized by a committe or board members, made up of people from the the islands, you're still in a foreign land that does not fully understand or feel what we feel, because it's not their culture.

You want to take ah lil jump and try to duplicate d ting, like yuh self in ah north american session. You want to feel in yuh soul want it is to "break away" visit one of the many caribbean nations during it's festivities.