Thread: Ananci. . . . .
View Single Post
Old 02-23-2008, 04:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ananci_7

Credits: 5,078
Originally Posted by Rinababy View Post
Its interesting that you bring this up. Im currently teaching my students European history and in a few weeks we will be looking at the Witch Burnings that occured in Europe just prior to and during the Renaissance. I have a DVD called "THe Burning Times" that Im going to show them. Its funny because I remember watching this (back then it was a VHS....Lord!) in Highschool and even though its focus is more from a eurocentric perspective, it reiterates most of what you said. It also focuses on how the Wiccan religion or modern day witches are a throwback to the Devine Feminine, a time where women were respected and revered for their healing ability, intuition, and life giving abilities. I just hope the kids are mature enough to handle it. Ive found that oftentimes when the issue of religion is raised (which is ALL the time when teaching European history) some kids get very defensive particularly when Christianity and past practices of the church are in question.
Ay, doh bad-talk VHS dey. It have fight in dat.

The reality is that religion is the central core of European history since the Roman Empire; yuh can’t get around it. Just try to predict the questions they’ll be throwing at you and take it from there. I remember The Burning Time; I too saw it on VHS and I must make the time to look for it in DVD to add to my library.

Now I don’t know the children you teach but I find they are much easier to deal with in terms of this kind of material than older people, most of whom have their minds closed off and are almost hopeless. Religious “education” has screwed up a lot of children and adolescents too of course but I find that they are more willing to critically think and examine other points of view. Practically every single article, post and essay I write is for anyone age 25 and under; I have almost no interest in anyone 25 and older, if ppl my age read it, dey read it, if not….wha’ever. Prepare them children and yourself too; I predict that before very long this culture of stupidity, "unliteracy" and not-knowing will have a backlash and those who are children now will be looking for those thinkers who kept the faith. That's where people like you, me, whoever, will be heavily relied upon for guidance.