30 Never looked this good
Credits: 17,434
Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva
the same way Paul was. The same way Jesus did. You don't gotta meet every day with everyone. You meet when needed. You deal w. the big problems and teach other people to deal w. issues amongst themselves. The pastor has to teach some men and women under him the ways of Christ, and they do the same to everyone else....let the church, well...discipline itself. And when they can't bring the issues to the pastor.
oh yeah, and I'm not the one suggesting it...it's been the way Jesus wanted it from the bible for about 2000 years now.
Do you belong to a church body? I'm genuinely asking...
'Cause I do...and my church has approximately 700-800 members (small compared to these mega churches) with one pastor! Yes there are elders...but there are some people in the church who will not leave the hospital till de pastor come tuh pray & visit, bury their dead, or get married, unless de pastor do it! Dey ent care one bit dat de pastor training oddas...as time goes on, and things get worst...it's not as easy to chalk it up to "discipline itself" There are people from all walks of life who need serious guidance...
A lot of pastors also aren't just available to those within their church walls...they also service the needs of the local community...
My pastor has an office at the church, and he reports daily the same way I go to work...'cause that's his job...
Also...both Paul and Christ were un-married...dey didn't have no wife, and children tuh support and put through college...
Now, I am not saying all of this to support the lavish lifestyle that some pastors live...but I don't think it's realistic to say in 2007 that a pastor should find some kind of gig to support himself and his family.