Credits: 56,864
I honestly don't see what allyuh getting all uptight about. Most of these rules are not even new and when they do put an artist on the truck ppl complain they'd rather hear the DJ anyway. NY Carnival has been heavily restricted since the 90's. Once upon a time they gave us lots of free rein but ppl wanted to fire shots in the air, others got caught under truck wheels, ppl get head buss etc. This isn't the caribbean, if you can't control yuh savages (whether the savages were caribbean or not), they will do it for you. I miss the old days too but when I put on my costume and I'm in the band I honestly don't notice all that stuff and the jump is short as hell anyway -have a time and before you know it yuh done crossed the "stage" and its time to leave the pkwy till next year.
NY Carnival may not be all that but there were years when I couldn't go anywhere and it was all I had and I'm sure that's been the case at one time or another for many ppl. All this demanding that this one or that one step down can only lead to the kind of friction inside the community that really will spell the death of NY Carnival. So ppl, just put on yuh costume, play yuh mas, cross the stage then take yuh ras home, bathe and have a drink w/ family and friends.