View Single Post
Old 07-20-2007, 05:37 PM   #148 (permalink)
benjie
Debble

Credits: 2,758
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
I agree w/ the general sentiment of your post but want to touch on two things -the bad experience you're having each year on the pkwy can be easily solved and honestly this is wherever the parade is held -pay yuh money, put on a costume and play mas. When yuh playing mas you're completely unaware of things like how much space between each band and who have only a dozen ppl and how much room it have on the sidewalk. 2nd, I hear everybody crying about calling for WIADCA to step down -whatever the orgs faults, its because of them there is a even a ny carnival to cry about. Important fixtures in the community like that do deserve our respect and if they facking up then its to figure a way to make them work better and be held accountable by the community they're suppossed to represent.
The major question is, how do you make WIADCA comply with your requests? I went to WIADCA and I did my best to bring up issues and when asked for what the plan whas or what they were going to do, you are pretty much told to wait and see. Or given no answer at all. Now I understand the sensitive position that they are in. But There are things that could be done to make the paraderun a lot smoother. Answer a silly question like this. Why were there no WIADCA officials at the starting point of the parade? The decision as to what order the bands go on the parkway appeared to be solely up to the police not the people organizing the parade.

If every year you voice your displeasure to the organizers and every year the same problems repeat themselves, what are your alternatives? You try to force the hands of the powers that be if you can or you walk away. At times it seems as if they won't even entertain an open format meeting where you can say they document your complaints and then report back to you as far as what was done to make things better.

Regarding paying your money to pay mas. What happens when playing mas becomes a sprint down eastern parkway. I have done long distance running but the running I had to do on labor day to get a food van caught up to a truck that only had two bands in front of it was ridiculous.

Hell I remember when we the band got to the judging section the state trooper told the truck driver to keep moving.

I have seen band leaders being threatened to be arrested because they were going to speak to the WIADCA official although they had the proper ID that identified them and gave them access to where they were going.

Issues are not being addressed. The change has to come from all of us. Don't ask someone to bend over backwards and then jump on them for a ride too.