Originally Posted by marabunta
New York Shitty White Ruling Class PIMPING Allyuh Culture to the tune of $300 MILLION
3 MILLION ah allyuh let that Money Bags Bloomberg and others MudderfuKKKers Walk in Front allyuh Parade and Dont Demand NOTHING in Return.
At Least ask the MudderfuKKKers for $10 Subway or Bus Fare or make the Goddamn Public Transportation FREE in Brooklyn on that day.
In your own way you have summed it up! Let me put some additional color on it for you and everyone else that thinks it just about a jump & wine. If it were up to me, the only people who would be able to march in my parade would be those who have demonstrated behavior consistent with our agenda!
1. Governing Body (WIDICA) & all other bands fight for the same limited pool of $$ that sponsors put out there. Hence no coordination and the money holders diminish our potential.
2. Typical production cost for the band the size of Hawks & Sesame $60,000
3. First place prize from WIDICA $5000
4. It can be illustrated that $300 mil is the tip of the ice-berg with respect to revenue realized by the City-State on this 1 day (Hotel Taxes, MTA, Vendors etc)
5. Sponsors divide and conquer by running between the different organizations to see who will give them the best deal while they continue reap the continued benefits of our community all year around.
6. Carnival Band Association dis-functional, no progressive movers and shakers (Crabs in a barrel syndrome).
7. WIDICA -status quo, do not rock the boat, $$ coming in, biggest parade in North America, bands will want to keep jumping (Puppet mentality).
8. Atlantic Yards project will be soon finished, the City will move in and take over the whole thing and structure it differently reaping even more profit while throwing a small bone to WIDICA to keep their face on it as to not seem to imperialistic. They will site how Toronto, Trinidad and other places as precedence that is working and why it make sense for them to take it over.
9. See number 6, this is why we will not be in control when it does happen.
10. Someone needs to take a leadership role. Typically that has always been Hawks.
In summary, if all the bands would get together (Both Steel & MAS) to effect change in lieu of opting for the small change derived from the carnival(Promoter Mentality), big things can happen.
Check your history, you do not know where you are going unless you know where you came from. It is only hope the rest of the carnival community wake up and smell the coffee, they new who they are. Good luck!