View Single Post
Old 06-27-2007, 04:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
antiguamarie

Credits: 120
Unburnable/Yellow Sun/Hurston Wright Legacy Award

Originally Posted by St. Croix Mami View Post
Oh gosh! No problem atall Sis! I really enjoyed the book and have come up wid several endings in my own mind.....although I gave you ah good cuss about that one Congratulations on such a wonderful debut novel! Please provide us with more, more more! I missed a book signing you had at Karibu books at Pentagon City. Are you holding other signings in deh area?

Also, thanks fuh taking the time to post on here.

Continued success and blessings to you.
I accustom to the cussing.
No, no more DC signings for now, I'm back home (Antigua) and resting up. I was in New Haven and NY after DC and suffering from serious fatigue! But I'll definitely be back in DC in late October if not before for the Hurston-Wright Legacy Awards because I just found out that Unburnable is short-listed for the Debut Fiction category -- that Award Ceremony is November 2nd in DC.
BTW Jinjer, I'm a bigger Adichie fan that you... and it's a big point of pride for me that she won the same prize I'm now short listed for (Hurston-Wright Legacy Award, best debut) in 2004 with Purple Hibiscus. She's also nominated this year for Yellow Sun in the Best Book category, so hopefully I'll meet her then and I can thank her in person for saying such good things about Unburnable. Check out the Hurston-Wright Foundation website to see all the nominees in all the categories:
The Hurston/Wright Foundation: Hurston/Wright Legacy Award

Marie-Elena
Marie-Elena John - Unburnable - Home