Credits: 4,513
Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist
Thing is, where would enslaved African-Americans have been exposed to Celtic wedding ritual traditions? Correct me if I'm wrong, I could well be, but I was unaware of any widespread presence of Celtic traditions in 16th-19th-century American culture.
If that isn't the case, and if we saw traditions similar to broom-jumping in both Africa and among Celts, it would seem to be more likely that enslaved Africans in the US would have brought those traditions over with them across the seas than it would be for the traditions to be introduced to them once here.
I understand whatcha yuh saying but the thing is and even in these articles they're not sure themselves because 1, there's no such tradition of jumping the broomin Africa (I've been searching and come up with nothing, so I can be wrong), there's the use of a broom for some wedding ceremonies... but it's either that this tradition was created by the African Americans or perhaps like she stated here
"The link here is that many slave owners were Scots-Irish immigrants (or their descendants)."
I believe the slave masters were the ones who looked over these weddings, correct me if I'm wrong, so the master could've brought this tradition OR perhaps it was a combination of slaves coming together with something sacred to seal the wedding.